Beginner question about vias

I have noticed that the solder mask of my top layer to disappear over my big vias. I don’t want this so I ran a test. By increasing the drill size of my small vias, the solder mask disappears going from 0.5mm to 0.6mm. What is controlling this?

Ideally, I would like my vias covered but pads for devices not covered. I have two size vias: big 4.2mm and small 0.9mm. Those are the annular ring diameters. The drill sizes are 1.3mm and 0.4mm, respectively.

I am a beginner so I expect there is more to this issue. Can anyone advise me?

Thanks.

I’m a little confused as to why you are trying to do what you are and I wonder if you are confusing plated through holes with vias. So please for give me if I’m teaching Granny.

Yes a plated through hole is a via but the purpose is different, usually. A via connects traces or planes between different layers. They are also frequently used to provide a thermal path from an ICs ground pad through to a larger copper area to which a heat sink can be attached. A plated through hole can obviously achieve the same objective but more often than not also retains a component lead, a screw, a wire. The other distinction is that vias are covered by solder resist while plated through holes are not. I think a covered via is refired to a a tented via. Vias can be berried, i.e. hidden on inner layers, they can be blind, not go through all layers. These options are not, as far as I’m aware, possible for plated through holes.

If none of the above has helped post a simple example as a reply (a picture paints and all that).

This is a two layer board.