LibrePCB in the Snap Store

Hello! I recently discovered LibrePCB from a friend of mine. As a budding amateur maker and lover of digital electronics, I was delighted! Nice work so far! I am a Developer Advocate at Canonical working on Snapcraft and Ubuntu. I wanted to help bring LibrePCB to the wider world so I made a Snap (a Linux software package) of it, and published it in the Snap Store. You can see the store page here: https://snapcraft.io/librepcb

For someone on Ubuntu (or any of the other 40+ distros supported by snaps) you can snap install librepcb to get the latest release. If you’re adventurous you can grab builds from the edge channel which are built periodically whenever the project changes on GitHub. You can get that with snap install librepcb --edge or switch from the stable channel to edge with snap refresh librepcb --edge - and of course switch back with snap refresh librepcb --stable.

I’m happy to keep publishing this and moving releases to the stable channel as you push them out. Also happy if the upstream developers would like to take over the package. I don’t mind either way. I appreciate that you’re busy and have focus on other things, so don’t worry if you don’t want to take it on. I’m just happy to be able to share LibrePCB with the world a little :heart:.

2 Likes

Hi Alan,

I recently discovered LibrePCB from a friend of mine. As a budding amateur maker and lover of digital electronics, I was delighted! Nice work so far!

Good to hear, thanks! :slightly_smiling_face:

Oh very nice, thank you! :tada: Unfortunately the description is slightly outdated, but on the master branch the AppData XML is already updated so it should get fixed automatically when releasing 0.1.4 :wink:

I quickly installed the Snap, worked flawlessly and is indeed a very easy method to install LibrePCB on Ubuntu since it is listed in the software center :+1: