How to Create a Thermally Relieved Connection to a Plane

How does one create a thermally relieved connection to a plane?

Another item for the TO-Do list I guess.

1 Like

Yes, this is definitely on the TODO list!

See this issue for more details:

To quote @ubruhin:

Yes, this definitively needs to be added. Unfortunately itā€™s not trivial to calculate the spokes, there are multiple possible solutions with different advantages/disadvantages and Iā€™m not sure which one is the best. Would be nice if someone could dive into this to find the best option :wink:

When laying out my board I did give the problem some thought. Unfortunatlly I dont considermy self a programmer but I have had some experience during my carear. I am happy to discuss and test Idears and leave it to the experts.

ubruhin,

do you have a copy of the IPC standards relating to thermally re-leaved pad design. Or perhaps can point my request to some one who has. I ask because I am looking at what might be needed to implement a solution. I have found some information via the web but not specifically from standards.

I think I may have a possible design solution but I could really do with some definitive detail. I donā€™t think I have the skills to implement but my proposal may provide a useful starting point.

Hm, I donā€™t know if there is even some kind of standards regarding thermal spokes :thinking:

The more I look into this the more I am thinking any standard doesnā€™t actually specify a calculation for the clearance and spokes. I have seen IPC2222 mentioned but have not been able to read a copy to understand what it actually states. What my research as determined to date is:

• There are situations involving high currents, high frequencies and rapid transients where thermal relief may not appropriate.
  • The clearance required depends upon how easily the pad can be soldered, i.e. the process as well as the layer stack, are inner planes or heavy traces also attached to the pad.